Press "Enter" to skip to content

Polling stations open at Turkish diplomatic, consular missions in Bosnia

Polling stations in Turkish diplomatic missions in Bosnia and Herzegovina opened Friday morning for Turkish voters to cast their votes for Türkiye’s presidential and parliamentary elections scheduled for May 14.

Polling stations will be open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. local time (0700-1900GMT) from Friday to Sunday.

Some 2,946 Turkish voters are registered in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

In addition to the polling station in Türkiye’s Embassy in the capital Sarajevo, polling stations also opened in the Turkish consulates in Mostar and Banja Luka.

Ambassador of Türkiye in Bosnia and Herzegovina Sadik Babur Girgin said the polling stations are ready for voting and that the current turnout shows a great interest in voting.

“Our citizens started coming immediately after the opening of the polls and this shows that there is an interest in the elections. Polling stations in Sarajevo, Mostar, and Banja Luka will be open for three days and we are waiting for our citizens to come and use and fulfill this democratic right and obligation. Let it be good for our country and homeland,” said Girgin.

Polling stations will also be open on May 6-7 at the Turkish Embassy in Serbia’s capital Belgrade, as well as at the Turkish Embassy in Montenegro’s capital Podgorica.

More from PoliticsMore posts in Politics »

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *