Press "Enter" to skip to content

Two of 10 House Republicans Who Defied Trump Win Re-election

WASHINGTON — A closely watched subplot in the midterm election involved the fates of Republicans who backed the impeachment and investigation of former President Donald J. Trump after the Jan. 6, 2021, attack on the U.S. Capitol.

Tuesday yielded a split decision that seemed to sum up the mixed impact of bucking a former president who demands loyalty and relishes revenge.

Dan Newhouse, a moderate Republican who represents central Washington State, prevailed easily over a Democratic opponent after fending off an earlier challenge from a retired police chief running on a pro-Trump platform. Mr. Newhouse was one of 10 Republicans to vote for Mr. Trump’s second impeachment.

Only one other survived: David Valadao, a California Republican representing a district in the San Joaquin Valley, won re-election easily.

On the other side of the aisle, some Democratic incumbents in competitive districts who took a strong stand against Mr. Trump also lost. One of the most outspoken members of the House committee investigating the Capitol attack — Representative Elaine Luria, Democrat of Virginia — lost a tight race to Jen A. Kiggans, a Republican state senator.

It is not clear how large a role Ms. Luria’s opposition to Mr. Trump played in her defeat. The district, on the Virginia shore, has always been a battleground and it had recently been redrawn in a way that favored conservatives. Moreover, the economy, rather than the former president, dominated a campaign that pitted two Navy veterans against each other.

Their battle ended on a civil note. Ms. Kiggans praised Ms. Luria for her love of the Navy and country, and thanked her “for all of her years in public service.”

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *